chefanna.blogg.se

Homeworld remastered collection star wars
Homeworld remastered collection star wars







homeworld remastered collection star wars

The battle goes downhill almost as soon as it begins, and we laugh as his ship erupts into a spectacular explosion that looks like a small supernova.

homeworld remastered collection star wars

#Homeworld remastered collection star wars mod

My interaction with the remastered version is actually limited to watching one of the guys with me select a bunch of ships with his mouse (including his mothership), and attacking the ships array on the other side of the void. You can download the original files and follow the HWR mod progress at : Star Wars mod for Homeworld 2 includes clone wars ships still in beta stages. They've already set up an impressive battle on one of the other computers, forgoing the need to spend hours to build a fleet of my own. To younger eyes, I imagine it looks a bit like EVE Online after the makeover, but Relic's game was created on the eve of CCP's sandbox, and its focus on coordination means it delivers a much different form of strategy.įar too much strategy, it seems, for us to bother with in the 30 minutes I have with Gearbox. Part of this is down to careful replacement of textures and shader effects, but a lot of it is down to the less is more ethos of the original. A few textures and some noticeably absent shadowing is all that gives the 16-year-old truth away. Homeworld is a game about space combat on an armada scale, and few games have done it better in the intervening decade and a half. So, to answer those starting questions: 1) Yes, and then some. Memory and imagination have a way of filling in the little details unattainable by the technology of 16 years ago, and the remastered version thus looked like the Homeworld I remembered, while the right screen looked like a rough draft.īut on to the next table-after all, the cutscenes are such a tiny part of the experience. Had I not seen the two side by side, I'm not sure I would have noticed how much had changed. They're undoubtedly proud of their product: they'd probably shown this stuff 10 times before I showed up, and even so, I swear I hear one of them make a little clap as the cutscenes buzz to life. On the left screen, there's the remastered version on the right, there's the old version, and the team makes sure both start in unison. Gearbox has two tables set up in the small curtained room, each with two screens. The two younger writers with me have never even heard of Homeworld before, and the Gearbox team itself, which acquired the rights during the big THQ selloff in 2013, seems more occupied with showing me how pretty the remastered version is than showing me gameplay.









Homeworld remastered collection star wars